Credo in Unum Deum

I Believe in One God

The Difference Between Catholicism and Protestantism- An Interlude

Having talked with a good friend about this subject, I decided that an interlude briefly restating my premise for this series of posts would be a good idea.

1. Catholicism and Protestantism are difference religions.
2. While I am a Catholic and I believe that Catholicism is the one and only true religion (which means Protestantism, while close in many respects to the truth, is a false religion), I do not find it necesary here in these articles to defend either the positive claim that the Catholic Church is the Church Christ founded or the negative claim that Protestantism constitutes a false religion.
3. I want to be a positive force in the dialogue that takes place between Catholics and Protestants by not clouded the issues with ecumaniacal schmooz-festing. The most honest and charitable way to engage in a dialogue with other religions is to be truthful and up front about what you believe or what your Church teaches. This will involve clearing away misconceptions on both sides. It will also involve an honesty on both sides; that is, being able to admit that what you thought religion A believes and teaches was wrong and that it actually believes and teaches something else. E.g. “Catholics worship Mary”- no, we honor and venerate her. That is an example of a common misconception that can be easily cleared up if the offending party is honest and humble enough to accept correction. Likewise, “Protestants think you can sin all you want because of ‘Once saved always saved’.” Wrong. Not all Protestant believe that.
4. Given (1), (2) and (3), I think just a general clearing up of the views from both sides would be helpful as we dialogue.
(Aside– sorry, Ocles… I just can’t be concise like you told me to be… I am not as bright as you, nor as good with words…)
5. Finally, I believe that as we try to understand what exactly how Catholicism and Protestantism are different, we will discover an unlooked for fruit- that being that Protestantism is undefinable in the strict sense. Now, again, I am not concerned with whether Protestantism is truly the Religion of God, Jesus and the Bible. But in showing the essential difference in the natures of Catholicism and Protestantism, we should come to realize that there is no such thing as Protestantism as a religion, but rather it is a label we can paste loosely on those who are not Catholic (or Orthodox).

Well, I guess that gives my main thesis for this venerable series of articles as someone so eloquently labeled them in a previous comment… So no surprises as to where I am going. Only surprise might be in how I get there…

July 24, 2007 - Posted by | Religion

2 Comments »

  1. Your last two sentences made me laugh.
    No surprise to me either (you going to hell).
    How you get there? By trusting yourself and a corrupt, lying system to save you.

    Comment by steveair | December 8, 2010

  2. Thanks, Steve. That was very thoughtful.

    Comment by Credo | July 12, 2011


Leave a Reply

